Riverside County Chapter Installs 2012 Board of Directors

RIVERSIDE, CA – More than 160 homebuilders, trade contractors, associates and local elected officials gathered at the Mission Inn on the evening of October 14, for the installation of the new board of directors and officers of the Riverside County Chapter of the Building Industry Association of Southern California, Inc. The annual event honored incoming President Mark Torres of Lennar, his executive committee and board of directors, as well as several special award recipients. In his capacity as President, Mr. Torres will lead the association in 2012, advancing its mission and providing vision and direction to the Board of Directors.

"The Riverside BIA has done a fantastic job navigating the difficulties of the economic downturn and despite challenging circumstances, lowered developer impact fees across the region and reduced governmental red tape to spur recovery in the housing market," stated Immediate Past President Michael White. "The California building industry is filled with hard working people who have sacrificed a lot to keep their businesses moving, and I am confident this association’s new board will continue our great work in protecting their interests, and improving the economic viability of our region."

Serving with Torres as members of the board of directors’ executive committee are Dan Boyd, DR Horton, 1st vice president; Jennings Pierce, JD Pierce Company, secretary-treasurer; Donna Wetzel, First American Natural Hazard Disclosures, vice president, associates & programs; and John Tanner, RBF Consulting, vice president, membership.

The members of the Board of Directors installed include Cyndi Baltazar, imortgage inc.; Michael Brandman, Michael Brandman Associates; Barry Burnell, Brookfield California Land Holdings; Steve Dorflinger, Fixtures Living; Darius Fatakia, Beazer Homes; Diane Fradkin, Developers Edge LLC; Bryan Goodman, Lewis Operating Group; Brad Hay, Hunsaker & Associates; Randy Hlubik, RHA Landscape Architects-Planners, Inc.; David Jeffers, David Jeffers Consulting; Steve Johnson, Metrostudy; Tim Maloney, Community Works Design Group; Ryan Miller, C2 Reprographics; Joel Morse, T&B Planning; and Michael Van Daele, Van Daele Homes. The new board members will serve two year terms and join current board members whose terms expire in 2012.

The evening included the presentation of four special recognition awards given to community leaders, builders and associates who have shown extraordinary dedication and service to the association and the industry. Immediate Past President White presented Lennar’s Mark Torres the 2011 President’s award for his strong support of the chapter and the association throughout 2011 in addition to his commendable service as a board member. Mark Farrell, New Way Landscape, was honored with the 2011 Volunteer of the Year Award for his exemplary dedication and service to the Riverside Chapter and the industry. Gothic Landscape received the 2011 Associate of the Year Award for their tremendous efforts in support of the chapter, including: donating materials, volunteering, attending events and assisting with membership drive efforts. PulteGroup’s Chris Haines was honored with the 2011 Builder of the Year Award. Haines serves as President of the Southern California and Southern Nevada Division of PulteGroup, and actively supports the chapter with his service on the BIA SC’s Steering Committee, Riverside Chapter Board of Directors, Orange County Chapter’s Executive Committee and Board and San Diego BIA’s President’s Council.

The Building Industry Association of Southern California, Inc. is a non-profit trade organization made up of over 1,000 member companies members who are actively involved in all facets of the homebuilding industry. The association has a history of powerful advocacy for the homebuilding industry, and continues to provide a vigorous governmental relations program, as well as a multitude of networking and business development opportunities, cost-saving benefits, and educational programs.